Showing that fear of mediocrity can make the world a better place.

SOLID principles renewed

I recently finished reading the articles describing the SOLID principles of OOAD from http://butunclebob.com/ArticleS.UncleBob.PrinciplesOfOod.

I had skimmed over them before and in my naivety I assumed that they made as much sense to everyone else as they did to me. “How else would you design it?”, I remember thinking, “Of course I’ll create a new class to perform that functionality. The existing class has nothing to do with it.” Unfortunately, too few developers think that way and the “common sense” design principles are not common to many developers.

I think like everything else the principles need to be taken into consideration and weighed as you develop a solution to a particular problem. As the discussion surrounding them and the back and forth between Joel Spolsky and Bob Martin (http://www.infoq.com/news/2009/02/spolsky-vs-uncle-bob) shows, even something so seemingly basic and elementary in object oriented design is up for debate.

Leave a Reply

